Child Bride

Afghan Voices
Nov 26, 2019

--

A poem by Anonymous

I was born in a beautiful remote place
But underneath was an evil face

I was thirteen; playing with a toy
There was nothing except joy

Everything was going well
But then I found myself inside a hell

I was sold for a huge amount
He begged my father for a discount

I was married off to a man
Who was the head of a clan

His children were my age
Enjoying, playing while I was in a cage

My life became black like a dark night
There was no hope and no light

This is what happened to me and
I hope that I am the last miserable girl you see

I do not want any girl’s life ruined like this
Let the world end child marriage and dismiss

--

--

Afghan Voices

Writing by Afghan writers. Editor/Publisher: Nancy Antle; Editor: Pamela Hart