Girls of Kobani

Afghan Voices
2 min readNov 26, 2021

--

By Muzhgan Saghar
Translated by Asadullah Jafari “Pezhman”

Kobani girls on the battlefield against ISIS in Syria, 2015

I believe in the amazing desert, damn it

I was godly now I am an infidel, damn it

To you who made my life hell

The more you are, the less I am, damn it

How tired I am of your bitter truth

I drown in grief from head to toe, damn it

Your cold gaze distracts my image

The crutch is broken as I am from other sex, damn it

Lest you defeat me again

If you accept, damn my sister

Where is the hereafter O heaven that I miss?

That depends on my imagination, damn it

Dispute my name, shame & my chastity by you

Regret & pain that you are my brother, damn it

Kill me; you never tire of killing me maybe

Because I do not take your clothes off, damn it

I will stalk you while you live a thousand more lives

We are the Kurdish girls from East Kuban, damn it

You axed the green trees of freedom

I did not believe in you of the root, damn it

I am at the peak of life and the end of the flight

Not a symbol of pain! I am Muzhgan Saghar, damn it.

--

--

Afghan Voices

Writing by Afghan writers. Editor/Publisher: Nancy Antle; Editor: Pamela Hart