I am Miramurian

Afghan Voices
1 min readDec 5, 2021

--

by AllahYar Amiri
Translated by Asadullah Jafari “Pezhman”

Miramur District of Daykundi Province. Photo by Qader Rafat

I am Miramurian from the mountains and hills of the Afghan land

I am from the distant geography of Daykundi

I am there under those hard rocky mountains of Daykundi

I am full of tears, full of sorrow, and full of bitterness

I speak as a citizen, we have such deprivation

I am begging for tea and milk, a separate morsel of bread

I’m summarizing my words here, it isn’t accepted

I am a poor corner of loneliness, familiar tears from the storm

Hard big mountains are the mean turbans of our customs

I speak as a citizen from the culture of my ancestors

Our Hazaragi language is the language of love and faith

I call its presence the gold in my words

I write golden, the green word of my sonnets

On the paper, my heart flows in the veins of my soul

--

--

Afghan Voices

Writing by Afghan writers. Editor/Publisher: Nancy Antle; Editor: Pamela Hart