I Have Carpets and Dishes

Afghan Voices
1 min readDec 19, 2021

--

By Abdulwadood Shirzad
Translated by Asadullah Jafari “Pezhman”

I have carpets and dishes. I sell, do you buy?

I have a ruined house. I sell, do you buy?

Here is no work, no bread found for the night

I have a beautiful child. I sell, do you buy?

I have a daughter, a teenager and illiterate.

Her burden is on me. I sell, do you buy?

I have a lot of regret and pain.

Do not ask me my condition.

I have a fabled world. I sell, do you buy?

You did not lend me money. I already owe you.

I’m in pain from the unfamiliar. I sell, do you buy?

I went to my city and did something.

I jeered angrily. I sell, do you buy?

Compatriot, my children are hungry, nothing here for eating

I have shackles on my hands and feet. I sell, do you buy?

This is me. I do not care. I sell, do you buy?

--

--

Afghan Voices

Writing by Afghan writers. Editor/Publisher: Nancy Antle; Editor: Pamela Hart