My Heart Story with You

Afghan Voices
1 min readDec 26, 2021

--

by Maryam Homayun Kabuli
Translated by Asadullah Jafari “Pezhman”

Photo by Maryam Homayun Kabuli

Tell me a story so that my heart will be changed
So the bitter days I have Afget a little better

Tell me a story so that my dreams bloom with buds and buds,
the thorns burn and become dust and ashes

Tell me a story so the conditions of the destitute are better
Their house is warm, their tables full, the pot anchored

Tell me a story that destroys war
Until the homeland soldier wins in the fortress

Tell me a story where the pen replaces the gun
Until the book of my memories becomes a jewel

Tell me a story that says my compatriots are happy
Until my sleep becomes comfortable in the country

Tell me a story that says, Maryam you are not an immigrant
Until the dust of despair disappears from your head.

--

--

Afghan Voices

Writing by Afghan writers. Editor/Publisher: Nancy Antle; Editor: Pamela Hart