My Kabul!

Afghan Voices
Nov 10, 2021

--

By Shugofeh Bakhtari
Translation by Asadullah Jafari “Pezhman”

Kabul City Photo by Mustafa Ahmadi

My Kabul! I am far from your domain

I am in the grave in this far-off place

Without you, being without you every moment

It bites me like a wasp, Kabul

Your separation bothers me

I have to endure enough

I am far from co-culture and same-language

I always hate myself it made me

I have not done anything for you, Kabul

I apologize for disability, Kabul

My house is Kabul, my Kabul

I have to endure depression every moment

I owned my own house, Kabul

Now I am homeless because I am abandoned

Shine again here O sun

I am sunless with your darkness

Life sinks into disappointment

I am like a dead person in a grave

--

--

Afghan Voices

Writing by Afghan writers. Editor/Publisher: Nancy Antle; Editor: Pamela Hart