What I Want From My Life

Afghan Voices
2 min readOct 31, 2018

--

An Essay by Madia M.

Photo by Amber Clay

Everyone has different goals in their life. All the time we try to reach our goals. These goals make our life more interesting and make us want to continue living. We all want something from our lives. Some people want to have a comfortable life, or peace in their countries, education and more.

I want better education in my country. To have a better education in Afghanistan, we need peace, not war, not fighting going on around your school/university. Sometimes my only wish is peace.

I want people to love each other. By killing each other nothing changes. Love opens lots of doors that killing, fighting and war don’t. If we work hard with each other and get the thing we want, it shows love and peace.

I want to enjoy my life. I want to enjoy going to university and meeting new people; enjoy the changes that come to my life. There are lots of things that I want to enjoy doing. At my high school, there were only girls. Mostly we had the same problems of not going to school or not studying. But at the university, there are boys and girls, so it is different. This difference can be enjoyable because now you will know what problems boys might have, or how it seems to study with boys in the same class.

There are many people and many things that they want from their lives. I believe by working hard and studying hard we will reach our goals and wishes, insha’Allah.

--

--

Afghan Voices

Writing by Afghan writers. Editor/Publisher: Nancy Antle; Editor: Pamela Hart